Julia Lougheed is a classically trained clarinetist who is passionate about out-of-the-box thinking and using music to convey the the emotions of "now". She performs frequently throughout the Phoenix, Arizona area as a soloist and chamber musician. She can be seen performing with the Vientos Dulces Clarinet Quartet, Oh My Ears Open Score House Band, Arizona State University Bands and Orchestras, and the Paradise Valley Community College Composers and Improvisers Big Band. Julia enjoys collaborating with living composers to create and premiere new repertoire for her instruments. She considers this to be the part of her work that is most artistically fulfilling. Julia has commissioned and premiered works by Dylan Findley, Devon Tipp, Karlo Corona, and Elizabeth Kennedy Bayer. One commission she is especially proud of is the piece "Pour Vous" by Karlo Corona, created as an expression of the emotions felt in the wake of the Pulse Nightclub Shooting. 


In addition to her performing commitments, Julia maintains an active teaching studio in the Phoenix metro area, with students placing into top regional ensembles. She also works as production manager for the Oh My Ears New Music Festival, which occurs in Phoenix every January. 


 Julia will begin doctoral studies in clarinet performance at Arizona State University this fall, and will be studying with Dr. Robert Spring and Dr. Joshua Gardner. She looks forward to learning new ways to push the envelope of clarinet playing while pursuing research interests in music cognition. 

Outside of music, Julia enjoys running long distances, exploring Arizona's hiking trails, watching movies that make her think, and embarrassing herself at karaoke.